Making sacrifices: Fast food: Arby’s

Making sacrifices: Fast food: Arby’s

What’s up, Y’all? I want to share with you one of my biggest weaknesses, fast food. Now, let me clarify something… I do not prefer fast food over its healthy, home prepared counterparts. Fast food is just so flippin’ convenient it should be a sin.

With my husband and I working 6 days a week a piece, and having a high maintenance, hyper 3 year old boy who steals my heart with every giggle and smile, it can get a little tough to prepare meals at home especially when we already have so much on our plates already. With the pressure to work, cook, clean, run errands, shower, get ready, bathe our kids and get them to bed, maybe we can have a social (throw that in there too) it is almost way too easy to zip through a fast food joint and eat it on the way to or from wherever we are traveling. Virtually no time is lost, right? WRONG!

That workout you have to squeeze in if you’re not dead tired from everything else could in theory be completely skipped if we just ate right. They say a healthy lifestyle is 70% diet and only 30% exercise. So if your eating habits are not up to par what is the use in wasting time in the gym. If you’re like me you are doing the moves all wrong anyhow and completely wasting time and money, both of which are scarce to everyone these days.

So anyway, today I zipped through Arby’s because I have finally pin pointed my peak hunger times. One is about 2:30pm and the other is between 6pm and 7pm. Like…. If you do not feed me between those times please be prepared to excuse anything I might have said to you in vain because I was HaNGRY.

This post is about making sacrifices so I am going to walk you through my old habits of a 1245 calorie meal at Arby’s…. WHAT… AHAH I laugh because it is so pathetic that one meal is MORE than what I strive (I use this word loosely, veery loosely) to eat in a whole day.

I used to order the Market Fresh Roast turkey and swiss (hold the onion) sandwich, medium curly fry (which is huge, I never could eat them all but I sure tried! Momma taught me not to waste food and since its of my own money now, all the more incentive to shove it alllllll in there. All of it.) and an unsweet tea. The unsweet tea is where it started. I found this product called Stevia. There are many brands of this now but at the time I could only find one made by Skinnygirl. It ain’t cheap but it is what it is. I would get unsweet tea and squirt this “natural” no calorie sweetener all up in this paper cup full of beautiful light brown deliciousness.
image

it’s dirty because it literally goes with me everywhere and that little sucker has taken a beating

BOY when I found out how many calories I was consuming, I got a attiFOOD adjustment real quick fast and in a hurry. Sandwiches and salads are a conspiracy, I tell ya! Those are the most caloric foods on menu’s!

I just could not seem to give up my Arby’s, The food is a great value and the one by my office is so fast and convenient. I changed my order a little from 1245 calories to 815 calories. I would instead order a classic roast beef, small fry, my unsweet tea and of course, a cup of that dang cheddar crap. I still felt like I could cut calories so I skipped the fries the next time and I was still hungry. Luckily for me (at the time) my son eats like a bird and he hates French fries (the dude literally only eats grilled cheese) I ate his. Don’t judge me.

Today, I ordered a Jr. roast beef no cheddar and a side salad with balsamic vinaigrette. That is it. As a matter of fact, I separated the sandwich and took half the meat and put it on top of the other meat so only ended up eating half the bread. I just needed something of substance to full me up. The sandwich half and salad with dressing came out to about 400 calories but subtract some calories from the bread and the dressing since I squirted nearly half of it across the room. Whoops.

image

The point is, you can still have your convenience without it all going straight to your rear end! It is all abut making choices. If only I could make that choice not to eat the cereal on nights the husband gets home late and I am bored to tears.

Leave a Reply

